Feelings


I have been a bit frustrated, fearful and stressed lately.  Financially, driving so far to work everyday, and then having to drive around the region for my job has really been taking a toll on my wallet. On top of that, I have had to miss several days of work lately, due to illness and family emergencies. I just hope things will turn around financially.

I am a bit frustrated with the VFW lately, for a few reasons. First of all, I want to be more active in my role of Senior Vice Commander, but with work and other obligations, I just can’t seem to find the time to do everything with the VFW that I wish I could. Also, I am preparing to move closer to my office at work. I looked into the VFW post in that town. That post doesn’t have much going for it. They have a bar and a rental hall, and they do funeral services, but according to the VFW website, those are the only things going on there. They don’t have a Voice of Democracy, Patriot’s Pin, Teacher of the Year, or anything else of the sort going on. I’m not sure I like that. Also, I am frustrated by the fact that my current post has a decent amount of members, but it is always the same 7 or 8 members at the meetings, and the same 4 or 5 members doing all of the events and activities. People in the post complain that we don’t do enough, but then they want to sit around and wait for someone else to do anything, or they get too involved in their other commitments to really be a part of any of our events or activities.

I am also frustrated and stressed about moving. We are no where near ready to move as far as packing and stuff like that. And we haven’t really been able to take a good look at the house we are supposed to be moving into. And, things keep getting delayed with that. (I will go into how we came across this house at a later date.) The last word that we got was that the remodeling company hasn’t even been able to start the remodeling process on the house yet. So, we will see what happens.

I recently joined the American Legion. I went to the post club tonight to scope things out. I really liked it. I want to go back fairly often. I hope the town we are moving to has a decent American Legion post. I do feel a little guilty, though. I always told myself that I would only be involved with the VFW as far as veteran’s organizations are concerned. But, everyone else does several, so what the hell…I can too, right?

I just want to say that I am really looking forward to moving, once things get settled. It will be a chance to start over. A new church family. New VFW and American Legion posts. Also, I think I will try to get involved with the Knights of Columbus again. I may like this chapter better. I think if I do return to the Knights of Columbus I will want to go through initiation again. I think I would benefit from that.

Peace to you all, and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

